BREEAM Domestic Refurbishment  

The BREEAM Domestic Refurbishment 2014 scheme that replaced the EcoHomes scheme can be used to assess the environmental life cycle impacts of refurbishment projects including, existing dwelling’s, undergoing refurbishment, extensions, domestic conversions and change of use projects in the UK only. The following section sets out the project types for which the scheme should be used. For the purposes of this scheme, ‘Domestic Refurbishment’ is classified under two categories:

  • Category 1: Alterations to existing dwellings and extensions
  • Category 2: Domestic conversions and change of use projects

The scheme cannot be used for newly constructed dwellings. Newly constructed dwellings come under the scope of the Department of Communities and Local Government (DCLG), Code for Sustainable Homes (the Code) in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. New build dwellings in Scotland come under the Building (Scotland) Amendment Regulations 2011, Section 7 (Sustainability) or may use EcoHomes or newly released Home Quality Mark.


Code for Sustainable Homes

The Code for Sustainable Homes is an environmental impact rating system for housing in England and Wales, setting new standards for energy efficiency (above those in current Building Regulations) and sustainability which are not mandatory under current Building Regulations but represent important developments towards limiting the environmental impact of housing and may be required
for Planning or funding.

It has been prepared by the Government in close working consultation with the Building Research Establishment (BRE) and Construction Industry Research and Information Association (CIRIA), and through consultation.

The Code is intended as a single national standard to guide industry in the design and construction of sustainable homes. It is a means of driving continuous improvement, greater innovation and exemplary achievement in sustainable home building.

Waterstone Environmental have offered Code for Sustainable Homes assessments since 2012 on projects ranging from single, detached dwellings to 300+ unit housing schemes.


Home Quality Mark (HQM)

The newly released HQM that “replaces” the Code takes a balanced scorecard approach and only has one mandatory requirement, which makes it a flexible scheme that can support various types of new home projects. The HQM is designed to be a national mark that will give those buying or renting new homes the confidence that they are choosing a well built, cost-effective home that is designed and built to exceed expectations.

The Home Quality Mark can be used to assess the life cycle environmental, social and economic impacts of new build homes in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland only. For the purpose of HQM, a home is defined as a self-contained residential unit designed to accommodate a single household. It will therefore contain all the spaces that the household requires for living, sleeping, food preparation and hygiene. This definition of a home is the same as that used to define a ‘dwelling’ in The Building Regulations 2010, Approved Document L1A 2013 edition. A new-build home is one that is a new standalone structure or a part of one that will come into operation and use for the first time after its completion.

The HQM is not appropriate for the refurbishment of existing homes or for new build projects containing rooms for multiple residential purposes such as student and keyworker accommodation, care homes, sheltered housing or other multi-residential building types. Please see BREEAM New Construction Section.




Accompanying Services

  • SAP Calculations (Ene 01, 02 07)
  • Average Daylighting Calculations
  • Home User Guides
  • Water Calculations (Part G)
  • Mechanical and Electrical Design Services
  • BRE Green Guide Ratings